Homemade Corn Dogs, On a Stick

18 Aug
Pronto Pups!

Pronto Pups! Imperfect, yes. But still beautiful.

You ever notice how, from one state to another, there can be drastic vocabulary differences?

I’m originally from the awesome state of Minnesota, where, for whatever reason, there are a few things that are just said differently. For example, growing up, I played Duck, Duck, Gray Duck (rather than Duck, Duck, Goose). It wasn’t until I was in college that I learned about the goose business. And it’s the same way with corn dogs: In Minnesota (and especially at the Minnesota State Fair), these babies are Pronto Pups. Not that you can’t find a corn dog in the Land of 10,000 Lakes, but you’re more likely to encounter a pronto pup. It’s just the way it is.

But no matter what you call them, the hot-dog-wrapped-in-corn-batter-and-dipped-in-hot-oil is a quintessential fair food. It’s fried, it’s on a stick and it’s delicious. And so, of course, I had to make one for STATE FAIR WEEK. After the dual appetizers of fried pickles and mac and cheese on a stick, a pronto pup (a.k.a. corn dog) dinner is just about perfect. So, here we go!

Challenge: Homemade Corn Dogs 

In the interest of not being laughed at by the blogosphere for my funny verbage, I shall refer to the pronto pups as “corn dogs”. To make my very own dogs, I followed the recipe and instructions over at A Cozy Kitchen.

Ingredients
A plate full of cornstarch
2/3 cups of all-purpose flour
1/2 cup of yellow corn meal
1 tablespoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of salt
1/4  teaspoon of baking soda
1/4 teaspoon of cayenne
1 egg
3/4 cup of whole milk
4 hot dogs

98 percent fat-free turkey hot dogs

Why turkey dogs? I don't know either. But that makes this meal healthy, right?

To start, make sure your hot dogs are thawed and supple and ready for their big show. Turkey dogs were the only hot dogs we had on hand. Work with what you’ve got, I always say! While they were defrosting in the microwave, I started prepping. First, pour some cornstarch out onto a plate. This will (eventually) coat the dog and make the batter stick better.

adding wet to dry

Pour wet ingredients into dry. Stir.

Then, mix together all the dry ingredients for the batter (from flour to cayenne in the ingredient list). In another bowl, beat together the egg and milk. Then, quickly, combine the wet and dry ingredients, mix gently until it just barely comes together – you’ll have a batter that looks like pancake batter. That’s good. It’s better to undermix in this case than to overmix, so the breading stays fluffy and tender. Trust me.

batter glass

Batter. In a glass. Yes.

Now, the batter goes into a tall, skinny glass or cup. A champagne flute would have worked, but ours are packed in boxes somewhere, so I used a water glass. Then, the batter rests.

Now, the dogs are thawed. Skewer them (I used kabob skewers, but I hear that cheapo wooden chopsticks work wonders), and roll them in the cornstarch (tapping off the excess). And now’s also a good time to get your frying setup ready too. If you have a fryer, set it to 375 degrees and remove the basket. If not, heat 2 to 3 inches of vegetable or peanut oil in a heavy, deep skillet. It should reach 350 to 375 degrees.

rolling hot dogs in batter

Rollin' rollin' rollin'

Ready? This part moves fast: Dip the cornstarched and skewered dog into the glass full of batter and give it a few twists, so it’s all covered in batter. Then quickly, quickly slide it into the hot oil. The batter really won’t want to stick, so you have to move fast so the dog stays pretty well covered. Once it gets into the oil, it sets within a second. Let it fry up for about 5 minutes, or until golden brown. I had to turn my dog a few times with a set of tongs, so each side got equally golden.

rescuing corn dog from fryer

Pronto Pup Rescue!

When done, remove to a plate covered with paper towels to drain off the grease. Then slather in mustard and enjoy!

Taste Test

As Rob said, They’re Dee-lish. The breading on these puppies are absolutely spot-on: Crispy and crackly on the outside, soft and spongy on the inside, the dog inside steaming after you bite into it. The corn-sweetness of the breading is a perfect contrast to the vinegary mustard, and the whole thing stays put on the skewer, thanks in part to the little nub of breading that ends up wrapping around the skewer. That’s one of my favorite parts of the corn dog experience, and the last bite on any good dog.

The only complaint I have was the turkey dog had a different taste than a regular beef dog does. But that was my own fault, and it brings up a good point: Vegan and vegetarian and hot-dog purists can all ensure the quality and diet-friendliness of these babies. So, win.

I suppose I could also complain that our grocery store doesn’t sell foot-long hot dogs, so I can’t make foot-long corn dogs. But then again, I could make a half-dozen of these (approximately) for the cost of a single fair dog, so I’ll let that slide.

DIY or Buy? 

Yes. Both. During fair time, Buy, because no trip to the State Fair is complete without a corn dog. It’s like going to France and avoiding wine, or going to Hollywood and ignoring celebrities: Wrong all around. But for the other 50-ish weeks out of the year, DIY is the only way to go. (Even if the bar down the road is selling them. DIY.)

Okay, obviously I have a special place in my heart for pronto pups/corn dogs. What is your can’t-miss-it fair/carnival/celebration food?

And TOMORROW is the last day of my State Fair Extravaganza! I shall be sad to see it go – my fryer and I were really getting along. But I’ll end on a high note with dessert – not fried Twinkies, but here are some hints: In involves a stone fruit, honey and (of course) a fryer. That’s all I’m saying.

4 Responses to “Homemade Corn Dogs, On a Stick”

  1. lindsay aldini 08/19/2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I have to point out that after ordering a footlong corn dog at the fair once, I learned that most of the stands use 2 regular hot dogs rather than one actual foot-long one. Lame, no?

    • Amanda 08/20/2011 at 11:55 am #

      Do you know what this means? DIY Footlong Corn Dogs! Or, with the right fryer, two-foot-long corn dogs. Like party subs, but with fair food.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fried Peaches to End State Fair Week « DIY or Buy - 08/19/2011

    […] actually piggy-packed my fried peaches onto the corn dog makings. I had a bunch of batter left after the dogs were done, so I added a heaping tablspoon of sugar to […]

  2. Fried Peaches to End State Fair Week - DIY or Buy - 10/18/2011

    […] actually piggy-packed my fried peaches onto the corn dog makings. I had a bunch of batter left after the dogs were done, so I added a heaping tablspoon of sugar to […]

Leave a Reply

