State Fair Week is Nigh

9 Aug
crowd at the state fair

I'm evidently not the only one who loves the Iowa State Fair! (Photo courtesy of the Iowa State Fair)

Dear and Lovely Readers,

First, an apology. I have been somewhat remiss in my blogging duties of late, largely because my life has become consumed with real estate issues (buying a house and moving into it, and renting out our existing house). The bad news? I’m missing DIY or Buy analysis posts. (It’s hard to type when you’re covered in paint.) The good news? I have DOZENS of posts-in-the-making. So, please forgive me and bear with me.

And to reward your patience (and give myself a much-needed mental break), I’ve deemed next week STATE FAIR WEEK on this here blog! Yes, the Iowa State Fair begins on Thursday and runs through August 21st, and it is one of my favorite things about Iowa. There’s the world’s largest pig (which is a wonder, but also makes me a little sad, because they always look so hot and uncomfortable) and the horse stables, and the giant cow fashioned entirely out of butter, and the photography displays, and the cake-making competitions, and the concerts and the midway and, oh, the food.

corn dog stand

The Ultimate Fair Indulgence: Hot dogs, wrapped in corn batter and fried. (Photo courtesy of the Iowa State Fair)

THE FOOD. State Fair food. I love State Fair Food. So, we’re totally making it.

Grandma Vi gave Rob and I a mini-fryer not too long ago. This little gadget hasn’t been excessively used, but that’s about to change. Because State Fair Week is all about the frying, baby. I’m going to attempt to make, at home:

  • Fried Pickles (not on a stick)
  • Corn Dogs (on a stick)
  • Fried Twinkies (maybe on a stick)
  • Mac & Cheese On a Stick (on a stick)

It will be fried. It will be a grand homage to our beloved State Fair. And it will not have any of my traditional analysis. Because, let’s be realistic: This stuff is terrible for you no matter where/when you get it, it’s always more expensive at the fair, and I won’t be able to do a straight side-by-side taste comparison. (Unless I can figure out a way to smuggle my own mac ’n’ cheese on a stick into the fair, which isn’t entirely outside the realm of possibility.)

Anyway, the regular stuff will pick back up with the Aug. 23rd post – I promise. But I’m going to take a week to indulge in epic amounts of food experimentation and goofiness. Please join me! And, if you have any special I-want-to-see-it-made requests, let me know in the comments. I’m easily swayed.

(Super thanks to the Iowa State Fair for the lovely photos.)

8 Responses to “State Fair Week is Nigh”

  1. Rob L Glazebrook 08/09/2011 at 11:21 am #

    I think we should test giant turkey legs as well. For strategic science purposes. Purposes that end in my belly.

  2. Anne 08/11/2011 at 9:34 am #

    Your readers want to see a fried butter DIY post. And by readers, I mean me.

    • Anna Dunn 08/11/2011 at 10:37 am #

      Seconded.

    • Amanda 08/11/2011 at 11:15 am #

      Butter, wrapped in carbs, fried in oil. I like everything about this, except the actual taste-testing part. 🙂

  3. Anna Dunn 08/11/2011 at 10:38 am #

    I am very excited about this. This is the end of our first year living in Iowa. Last year, we didn’t go to the State Fair because I was 7 months pregnant and felt very much like that giant pig must feel. But this year I am READY!!

    • Amanda 08/11/2011 at 11:14 am #

      Yay! You’ll have so much fun. It’s a very Quintessential Iowa experience, and even if you enjoy nothing else, the people watching is superb.

  4. Anon 08/13/2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I’ve been a lurker for a while but this post brought me out of the woodworks! You have to indulge in fried peach on a stick (on a stick). Easily the best fair food I’ve ever had! Find a good funnel cake batter recipe and use that as the batter, and you’re good to go. It’s fruit so it’s healthy…right??

    • Amanda 08/15/2011 at 8:43 am #

      Welcome! And fried peaches sound amazing… and I just happen to have some peaches on hand. It’s on!

Leave a Reply

