Another Sugar Scrub!

17 Jun
scrub ready for use

The Olive Oil and Sugar Scrub

Okay, so earlier this week I posted about a sugar scrub. It was lovely and wonderful and it smelled great, but it required a few specialty ingredients. Namely, sweet almond oil and essential oils. (Well, the essential oils weren’t required, but they really did help.)

Anyway. I also made a second batch of scrub, that uses only things you can find at the grocery store – no extra shopping trips or goofy specialty oils. Ready?

Olive Oil and Sugar Scrub

1 cup turbinado (or raw) sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 Tbsp. honey

Mix everything together. Apply liberally to skin. Rinse. Enjoy smooth, exfoliated skin!

This recipe originally didn’t have the white sugar in it. I added it because I felt the  raw sugar alone was a little rough on the skin. The result is the white sugar absorbed a lot of the oil. If you want a more moisturizing scrub, add more oil (or skip the white sugar). More oil will have a stronger olive oil scent – which I frankly like. Less oil will just leave you with a clean, fresh-scrubbed you scent.

I’ve been using this scrub, and it’s lovely. And at $3.42 per batch, for nearly two cups of scrub (with the white sugar), it’s a total steal.

3 Responses to “Another Sugar Scrub!”

  1. Stephanie F 06/21/2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Are you able to use this on your face or is it too oily? I love the St Ives stuff for my face and i’d love to try making my own facial scrub.

    • Amanda 06/21/2011 at 1:25 pm #

      You know, my skin is pretty quick to break out, so I haven’t tried it on my face. However, I know some people make face masks with olive oil, so it probably just depends on your skin. The oil-to-scrub ratio here isn’t bad.

  2. Jax Adele 08/04/2011 at 2:23 pm #

    What about a salt scrub for your face? I really love Lush’s Ocean Salt Scrub but I want a version I can make myself.

Leave a Reply

